The island of Lidingöin Stockholm is scattered with the silhouettes of people floating in mid-air or being held up in the palms of what appear to be the hands of giants.
By night they watch over the city from their lofty heights and cast shadows like mythical guardians. By day they are surrounded by people keen to have a look at this magical place. But this isn’t a dream world, this is Millesgården.
The Stockholm-based museum and sculpture garden is a homage to sculptor Carl Milles and his wife, artist Olga Milles, both of whom are buried on the site in which they used to live. When the couple first met and married, their intention was to build a home incorporating space for their art studios and after building the house, now a museum, in the late 1910s they decided to have an open-air studio where Carl Milles could create sculptures and structures of limitless size.
Milles sculpted in heavy, hard materials such as granite and bronze and paired the sculptures with the lightest elements such as water and air by placing them in fountains and raising them up in the air so that they interacted with the sky. The sculptures have withstood the test of time, with some remaining intact at over 100 years old.
As Milles’ sculptures became a greater and greater success during the 1920's, adjoining properties were acquired and the site now stands as a place where the public can enjoy the serenity of the space whilst educating themselves in the practises of sculpture and art.